Uncovering Our Hidden Misogyny

Just stumbled across this and thought it was a great starting point for some really important ideas.  It’s a relatively brief video with a lot of important commentary in the area of both the Church and society when it comes to how women are treated.

I thought one of the most important parts of the discussion was at the end when we were encouraged to examine our own hearts for hidden contempt toward others.  All sexism or negative treatment of a group of people begins in our own heart.  Look for it, be open to letting others point it out, and be honest in how it affects the way you feel about others.

Uncovering Our Hidden Misogyny

4 responses to “Uncovering Our Hidden Misogyny

  1. That’s a good bridge-builder for discussion. I might put it on FB. Thanks.

    Like

  2. I shared it with a friend for now. He and I were both struck by the untruth that sexism is not theological. I think the interviewer was attempting to disarm members of the audience who would be alarmed to think that in order to be concerned about sexism they must change their theology of women (i.e., those who might tune out immediately at the thought). But as it comes out later in the conversation, this IS indeed a big piece of it. It is true that my patriarchal church, however, can be concerned re: aspects of sexism while maintaining many biased ideas about and limitations of women. So I get what he is attempting.

    I really liked how one woman pointed out that she wonders what we really think of other cultures if we think women are capable church-planters among them but not good enough here.

    Like

  3. You bring-up a very good point that sexism isn’t theological. As I was putting this up I thought about how it might be received, and I remembered how I would have probably reacted a few years ago. My perception was that any type of concern about sexism or women’s right was being too “politically correct”, which automatically equaled liberalism, which equaled “You obviously don’t believe what the Bible says about women (Oh, and you probably also support abortion!), so I don’t have much trust in anything else you say.” In other words, I would have completely tuned it out and written it off. Fear of being associated with the kinds of people who are concerned about these things kept me from seeing any truth or validity in the message. As though anything “they” believed was automatically wrong. I laugh at my black and white thinking, my inability to see that no one group is all right or all wrong, but it also saddens me to think that just like you said, people will automatically tune out. While I think there are definitely issues that complementarians/patriarchialists will necessarily bump-up against concerning the roles of women in leadership, equality, ectc…, fighting against sexism as talked about in this video is many steps before broaching those issues. And, I think, it’s a necessary fight for the Church to be a part of. In the same way we should fight against racism, we should fight against sexism, because any ideology that makes one category of humans less than another, is not of God.

    Like

  4. “Fear of being associated with the kinds of people who are concerned about these things kept me from seeing any truth or validity in the message.”

    I remember living there as well! And I largely concur with your response. Good thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

