A quick peek

Slowly peeking my head above ground… looking around to see if anyone is still here….???

Gosh, wow.  It’s been awhile.  And to be honest, it’s been kind of on purpose.  In several ways I feel kind of at a crossroads with my life, and this blog is one little part of that.  I’m struggling with what I want it to be, how to internally approach that, and how to let that be a healthy addition to my life.  There is a part of me that is really wanting to withdraw from this public platform of sharing my thoughts.  And yet there is so much that is good about it for me… I’m trying to imagine some parameters that will allow me to keep this a healthy thing in my life.

In the meantime, the kids and I are back in Seattle after a two-week vacation in Memphis.  The transition feels like stepping out of summer and back into winter… I flew back into Seattle wearing a tank-top and shorts and had to immediately come home and change into long sleeves and pants!  I rebelled against the weather this morning and wore sandals and short sleeves to church, and I shivered through most of the service.

I’ll leave you with a quote from the book I just started reading today… a book that is so far completely nailing my current experience and feelings about much of my life.

…In many ways I am a traditional at-home mom:  I’m there when the kids wake up, take naps, eat lunch, watch cartoons, drink their chocolate milk.  I carpool; I cook dinner; I play games on the floor; I bake like a champ.  But those things don’t give others the complete picture of who God made me to be.  Same thing with any other mom.  God gives important gifts to women that have nothing to do with conceiving, birthing (or adopting), and nurturing children.  We have God-given talents, passions, and interests that a mom badge just doesn’t bring to the fore.  You need to dig below mom level to find this out.  And when no one does, it gets lonely.

Mama’s Got a Fake I.D. : How to Reveal the Real You Behind All That Mom by Caryn Rivadeneirna

3 responses to “A quick peek

  1. Great quote. Grace on figuring this season out 🙂

    Like

  2. I don’t think it matters if you are a stay-at-home mom or a high powered career woman, neither of those “roles” will give a full picture of who God created you to be. It is “who” we are, not “what” we do that God created, the latter is the choices that we make with our lives and gifts.

    Like

  3. courtney allen

    right there with ya friend! love the blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

