Let’s talk about The Bachelor

I know I’m kinda jumping into this late in the game, but we’re finally down to five girls, and to me that’s the perfect time to begin really paying attention.  So, what does everyone think so far?  We’ve got the nice guy Jake and five girls of varying niceness.  OK, here’s what I think:

1.  First of all, I kinda wonder why Jake is doing this anyway since he’s mentioned several times that faith is at the top of the list of his desired traits in a wife…. somehow I don’t think he’s going to find that on The Bachelor.  If that’s really what he cares about, he’d probably do better to look for a wife at church.  Texas is a big place, I’m sure he hasn’t exhausted its wealth of nice Christian girls.

2.  So far I’m impressed at how honest he’s been with the girls.  He’s called-out a few of them on their game-playing and weirdness, and he’s sent home two extra girls before it was “time” simply because he realized that they weren’t right for him and he didn’t want to keep them around to play games.  I mean, let’s be real here, he’s still on a show where he kisses multiple girls one after another, so it’s not like he’s a total pillar of integrity, but he’s definitely more the kid of guy I would like than the past bachelors.

3.  As far as Vienna goes…..I don’t get it, what’s the big deal?  I mean, she’s a little socially awkward and says things that easily come across the wrong way.  But I’ve never seen her be outright mean, she even make a group apology at one point for anything she might’ve said to offend, and the camera showed her crying by herself in her room when no one would spend time with her.  She seems like a nice girl whose just immature and spoiled and doesn’t know how to relate very well to other girls.  But wow, I really don’t think her immaturity deserves the kind of vitriolic bitchiness that the other girls are showing.  I mean, Ali is really over the top with her hatred… her emotional response to Vienna is simply out of proportion to the situation, it makes me question Ali’s maturity and sanity more than anything else.  I don’t think Jake and Vienna belong together, but he’ll see that.  He’s a smart guy.  I guess I’ve seen so many other Bachelors where there is a girl who is truly a jerk who badmouths the other girls and even talks about how she’s not there for the guy and is truly a horrible person. But Vienna?  Just being a little immature and saying kinda rude things doesn’t require Ali and Tinley to hate her with a passion that burns like the fire of a thousand suns.

4.  Ali used to be my favorite, but ever since she started showing her bitchy side when it comes to Vienna, I don’t like her a bit.  Seeing how incredibly mean she can be reveals more about her character than however cute and fun she is with Jake…and I think if he saw that side, he would be turned-off.  I would never want to be in a relationship with someone who has so much hatred and anger against someone who never meant them harm.  Not to mention, I think she’s exhibiting more immaturity every time she has a temper tantrum about Vienna than Vienna ever has.

5.  I don’t know who my favorite is anymore.  I do like Tinley, but again, I have a hard time with how mean she’s been to Vienna.  But as far as relating to Jake and the way she’s talked about her past, I do like her a lot.  Surprisingly, I also like Gia.  I don’t think they’re really that great together, but she seems very sincere.  Although I did laugh out loud when she was giddy and giggly during her date with Jake and she said, “I mean, I don’t think I’ve felt like like this in two or three years!!!”  I thought she was going to say, “I have never felt like this before!”, or at least something appropriate for being with a guy you might want to marry!

6.  I was very sad that he let go of Ella, she was my favorite.  But hey, if she’s not right for him, then I’m glad he sent her home to be with her son.  I liked that she was from Tennessee, of course, and she seemed very real and mature.

So, we’ll see how it turns-out and if there are a few weeks where they just have fun and he doesn’t get rid of anyone since he got rid of some extra people this week.  My prediction?  Hmmm….I think maybe Tinley and Ali will be left at the end.  Can’t tell yet who will win.  What do you think??????

5 responses to “Let’s talk about The Bachelor

  1. I totally agree with you about Vienna. I haven’t seen the problem yet either. I wonder if she does a lot off camera that we don’t see for all the girls to dislike her so much. I kind of think she is funny actually.

    I think you are right about the final 2. That is what I think as well. I think Tinley will win as of right now.

    Why why why do I watch this show? It sucks me in every time. So much drama but fun to watch.

    Like

  2. Em-I think I am right with you on this show….agree with every comment! We really should be watching together…but then how would Clay and Joe cover up their own obsessions with the show if they couldn’t say they were just spending quality time with their wives?? 🙂

    Like

  3. Hahahaha, Jennifer! Isn’t that the truth?!!!! Clay is so funny to watch the show with, he gets more analytical about it than I do!

    Like

  4. Oh, am I glad you posted about this! I am, sadly, obsessed with this show yet again. It’s amazing how a show with such a simple concept can suck me in every time!

    Here’s my take:

    -Vienna is annoying. I don’t think they are showing all of the events on the show, but she’s definitely shown her bad side to the other girls. I did feel sorry for her a bit when she tried to apologize, but you just can’t say “sorry” and expect everything to smooth itself over. She has to know that when she steals Jake away after she already has a rose, that is grounds for hatred. And how about when she told Jake that she wanted to be “last”? I can understand why all the girls are irritated. And…is it me, or do her eyes go different directions sometimes?

    -Alli – she also used to be my favorite, but now I’m annoyed that she is so obsessed with hating Vienna. At some point, she needs to MOVE ON.

    -Tenley – she is my favorite and I think she will make it to the final two. She is gorgeous and I love her honesty about her past. Her best move is to stay away from Alli and her brewing hatred for Vienna.

    -Jake – I’m a little confused about why he still keeps giving Vienna a rose. Even if you have a TOTAL connection with someone, you have to consider the fact that all the girls in the house hate her. Who wants a spouse that can’t get along with anyone else but you? Jake should not want a wife that he has to defend for the rest of his life.

    All in all, I appreciate that Jake is taking this so seriously and doesn’t want to keep the girls any longer that he has to…can’t wait to see what happens next!

    Like

  5. I LOVE Tenley! She has been one of my favorites all along! Gia is really starting to grow on me! She does seem really sincere. Ali used to be a favorite, but you are right.. she is acting really bitchy lately. Corrie.. well, she seems really nice, but she hasn’t had much air time, so I don’t think she is one of the final girls. Vienna… She is alright! She is immature I think.. but I just have this feeling she will win.. I am thinking we will have a Tenley/Vienna finale. Maybe Tenley will be the next Bachelorette?! Also, March 8th is the wedding on ABC of Molly and Jason Mesnick!! I am looking forward to that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

