And so…..Here I am.

Back on the blog.

After, um, a WHILE of blog slackerdom.  I was told by a dear friend the other day that she is tired of looking at “Spicy Pumpkin Soup” and could I please update my blog.  (I told her that it’s still up there because she hasn’t made the recipe yet!  Have you made it?  Well, have you?  It’s fanTASTIC! )

I’m sure I’ll have to do another one of those snippet update posts since I couldn’t possibly write about everything that has gone on since I was blogging regularly.  (Which, if we’re honest, has been a good YEAR ago!)  So, this is what I’m going to do.  I’m going to write a list of things I’ve been thinking of/doing/learning and what our family has been up to….the goal being that sometime in the very near future I’ll elaborate on each and create–DUM, DUM, DUUUUMMMM!– a full post.

*We’re currently in Memphis visiting family and friends for the holidays.  We came December 18th, Clay went back home last week, and the kids and I are flying back to Seattle this Friday.  Not looking forward to the flight home with two kids by myself.

*We had Harris’ 1st birthday party tonight!!!  His birthday isn’t until January 13th, but we wanted to celebrate with family while we were here.  It was such a fun time, and I can’t believe that my sweet boy is almost 1!!!!

*Seattle is becoming home.  As excited as I was to come to TN for Christmas, I was actually kinda sad to leave our little house.  What used to feel dark and stifling now seems cozy and intimate.

*I’m turning into a health nut.  I’ve been doing lots of reading and researching nutrition and healthy diets, particularly along the lines of the Weston A. Price Foundation.  Now, granted, it’s been hard to implement changes when I’m on vacation in someone else’s house and not doing the food purchasing or cooking.  But I have made some big changes over the past couple of months in our diets, and I’m planning to do some more adjustments as soon as we get home.

*Not ready for Baby #3 yet, but I must say I’m getting a little bit of baby fever.  Kinda scary.  (Maybe I should go back and reread some of my posts from last year?)

*Evelyne just turned 3 a few weeks ago.  The baby is completely gone, and she is all little girl.  She’s so sweet.

*I’m reading a couple of great books:

Love is an Orientation by Andrew Marin — It’s really gotten me thinking in a different way about what it could mean for the Church to build bridges and love the gay and lesbian community.  I’m realizing that homosexuality is a much more complex thing than I had ever thought.  I’m saddened and embarrassed at how judgmental and hurtful the Church has been to the GLBT community, and I want to seek ways that I can practically and measurably love them.

Loving Our Kids on Purpose by Danny Silk— I’m really enjoying this book so far.  A lot of it is stuff I’ve already thought about or read before, but it’s being put together in a new way and with a different spin on it.  I’m already parenting my kids in much the same way, but it’s given me new things to think about and tweak.  I’ll definitely be posting some excerpts that have stood out to me.

Good Calories, Bad Calories—  I haven’t officially started this yet, but it’s been referred by some other sources I’ve read, so I’m looking forward to reading it.  I’m pretty sure the gist is that every calorie we eat is not treated the same way in our bodies.  To eat a calorie of bread is different than eating a calorie of broccoli or butter.  Weight loss is not all about calories in and out, it matters what kind of calories they are and by eating the wrong kind, you’re screwing with your health and  weight loss.  (at least I think that’s where it’s going)

*I’ve pretty much been not blogging because I’ve been L-A-Z-Y.  I mean, yes.  Life is busier now that Harris is on the move and I’m a full-time referee between the two kiddos (“Ahhhh!!!!  Hawwis is getting my toys!!!  Ahhh!!!!”).  But really, I do have time to blog.  I just don’t really want to very much.  It’s so much easier to do something else like, ohhh….watch tv?  Read other blogs?  Take a nap?

But I need to blog.  It’s healthy for me to process my thoughts through writing, it’s a good discipline for me.  I love reading the comments (at least the comments I used to get back when I used to post enough to get lots of comments!) and the conversations that result, and I like staying connected that way.  I think it’s also good for me to reach out of myself and my little house on the days when I just feel like hunkering down and not talking to anyone.  I loving keeping up with friends who live far away via their blogs, and I want to make myself more available for our friends and family that way.

All that to say…  I’m back.

5 responses to “And so…..Here I am.

  1. I’ve been lazy too…but not as much as you ; ). Seriously, I’ve missed reading from Emily. And Courtney too. I thought a/b posting a whole blog entry a/b bloggers that I miss to get you girls going!!!!

    Like

  2. Yeah!! No more spicy pumpkin soup 🙂 I DID make the recipe and LOVE it!! We’ll have to have some together when you get back….IF you EVER come back…PLEASE come back!!! You’ve been gone forever!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the love, girls! I’m so glad you loved the soup, Jen! =) And we’re coming back on Friday! If you hear a tortured scream coming from the sky, that’ll be me on the airplane with the kids by myself. Save me a day next week to get together and catch-up!!!

    Like

  4. Glad you are back! I had so much fun with you tonight. You always make me laugh. I wish you still lived here but I’m so happy that you are happy there. Oh here is the blog http://prayforthelamberths.wordpress.com/

    Like

  5. Goodbye Spicy Pumpkin Soup! Hello to the return of my favorite blog! Although as much as I love your posts, I would MUCH rather have you in person in Memphis! Wish you didn’t have to leave on Friday…

    Like

Leave a Reply

