I should really be Mom of the Year

So, as you know, we’ve been potty training this weekend.  On our first day, when I got Evelyne out of the bed from her nap, she had had an accident and was really wet and it was all over her pants and the waterproof pad I put on top of her sheet.  I changed her and got her set-up with her Little Einsteins and snack (her after-nap ritual), and a few minutes later I noticed something.  Mimi, her stuffed lamb who’s her favorite lovey and best friend and she plays with all day and chews-on all the time, was soaked in pee.  And yes, she had been chewing on her since I had gotten her out of the bed.  We were pretty grossed-out and immediately threw Mimi in the wash.

Last night when I went to Harris at 3:30 a.m., I noticed that the whole front of his pajamas were soaked.  I think it’s the new diapers we’re using because he did this the night before, too, and he had only eaten once before that.  So, I had to go through the FUN process of fully waking-up and changing a screaming baby in the middle of the night.  When I took off his wet pajamas I thought I threw them on the floor.  Clay woke-up with him this morning and before he left for work I told him that I had had to change Harris’ clothes in the middle of the night.  He gave me a weird look and said, “Well then, you probably don’t want to hear this.  Where did you throw the dirty pajamas?”  Apparently, as I tossed them into the darkness, intending for them to land on the floor, somehow they landed over the side of his bed, and when Clay found him this morning, he was clutching his wet pajamas and his lovey, rolling around and chewing on them.

So, in the past three days, BOTH of my children have chewed on urine-soaked objects.  Someone make me a trophy, please.

2 responses to “I should really be Mom of the Year

  1. Hahahahahahahahahahaha! At least it wasn’t poop. See, always a bright side. 🙂

    Like

  2. your trophy should be one of the pee cups that they give out at the dr. offices for sample- turned upside down and arranged artistically. congrats!

    Like

Leave a Reply

