I’m back.

Wow, what a slacker I’ve been lately.  I think I’ve written one post in the past month or so?  I hardly remember the days when I’d blog almost every day…oh yeah, that was before I had a baby!  But still.  Really, most of my absence can be attributed to laziness rather than sheer lack of time.  Blogging is kind of like a healthy discipline for me since it forces me to sit down and take time to record my thoughts, something that I always enjoy doing and find is good for my soul, yet when I get in a rut of coasting through life on autopilot, blogging takes a backseat.  And I’ve been coasting, but hey, I’m still here.  I’ve actually had lots of things lately that I’ve wanted to blog about, I just haven’t sat down and actually done it.  Here are a few things that we’ve been up to in the past month or so:

*Harris is almost 7 months old and is totally awesome.  I’m still not getting much sleep, but eh, I’m used to it, and he’ll sleep through the night sometime in the next couple of months, SURELY.  He’s not doing an official crawl yet, but he’s on his way and scoots and rolls all around the room to where he wants to go.  He doesn’t know what to do with his hands, but he’ll get up on his knees or push with his feet and lunge his body forward.  Sometimes he’ll actually get his legs into almost a standing position while the front half of his body is on his belly on the floor, so it looks really funny like he’s trying to do a somersault or something.  Right when he turned six months old something happened and all of a sudden breastfeeding wasn’t exactly working out for us.  Either my supply suddenly dropped or his hunger suddenly increased and I couldn’t keep-up, but despite almost constant nursing for weeks, he remained hungry and mad after nursing, so now we’re supplementing with formula and solids.  I was able to do about half nursing and half formula with Evelyne for her first year, so I’m hoping that it’ll turn out like that with him, too, and he won’t get a bottle preference and leave me in his dust.  Either way, he’s gaining weight faster and seems much happier.  He has the sweetest smile and cutest squeal of a laugh, and we’re enjoying him more every day.  

*Evelyne is just hilarious these days.  I love that she’s old enough for me to have full-on conversations with, and she is constantly cracking me up!  She has a major Daddy preference these days, and she even went through a phase (I think it’s over) where I couldn’t even tell her that I loved her without her saying, “No, Daddy loves me!”  I’d have to remind her that Mommy AND Daddy love her, and I think it’s sinking-in now.  And heaven forbid I ever said that she was my girl, she’d respond by saying, “No, Daddy’s my girl!”  Ha!  She’s really starting to love Harris, and when she sees him for the first time in the morning she hugs and kisses him and he squeals and smiles, and it’s just the most wonderful thing.  She also regularly looks at him and says, “Harris, you so cute!”  A few weeks ago I think she decided that she would finally act her age and start having “terrible two” moments.  The tantrums and occasional red-faced screaming are finally beginning in our house, and wow, are we excited that she’s reached this milestone.  Her new favorite discovery is big-girl puzzles.  She’s always been crazy about puzzles, but I recently bought the real jigsaw kind and she caught-on pretty quickly and is now doing 25-piece puzzles by herself. All. Day. Long.  And of course they’re Disney Princess puzzles, and she’s decided that she’s Cinderella, Daddy’s Prince Charming (as he dubbed himself), I’m Sleeping Beauty, and Harris (bless his heart) is Snow White.  Whenever she sees a picture of Cinderella she says, “Look, it’s me!”

*About a month ago I’d had enough and I finally saw a doctor and started taking an antidepressant.  I think I had been really confused about whether or not I “qualified” for PPD since probably about 80% of the time I felt normal and like myself.  But the other 20% I felt like an unhappy crazy person who was very irritable.  Since I started the medication, things have been great.  It wasn’t a dramatic difference, but I feel like myself.  I’ve had a much more positive outlook on motherhood and life in general, and Clay has noted several situations during which I remained happy and calm when he had expected me to freak-out and get angry.  So I think it’s working, and yay for that.  

*In light of my newfound mental and emotional stability, I’ve had an even stronger growing love for my kids lately.  I think it’s a combination of the Paxil and Harris just getting older and happier and more manageable.  Of course there are still crazy, stressful moments and days, but in general I’m just enjoying them so much more.  I really love the toddler stage so far, and I just can’t wait for Harris to get older so I can see what his personality will be like. I can’t wait to hear him talk, to sing songs with him, to get kisses from him, to watch him play games with Ev… all the fun things that I’m loving about Evelyne right now.  I’ve actually even start envisioning what having the third will be like!  Of course we’re still at least two years away from that, but the thought doesn’t send me into a panic anymore.  I’ll be really nervous, of course, but I’m really excited to see what God has in store for our family and what other sweet little blessings He will give us.  Last night before Evelyne went to bed she was being SO funny and SO cute, and Clay and I were talking about how much we’re going to miss this stage when she grows-up and how we’re going to have to keep having more kids so we’ll always have someone like this around us.  For those of you who have talked with me in the past six months, you know how radical a change of attitude that is from how I’ve been feeling up to this point, so I would definitely say God and the Paxil are working!  

*Been thinking about this lately:

The Bible is the story that delivers us the Gospel. It’s point is to get you to Jesus, the one mediator between God and man. It’s a big book to get you to a short message. You buy the whole field, but the treasure is the Gospel, not the book of Judges or financial principles from Proverbs. Once you have the Gospel right and you know what preaching is all about, then you can read and preach Leviticus or Malachi or whatever you want, as long as Jesus is in his proper place and the message is the Gospel, not the law, or the old covenant, or this week’s good advice.

                                                                                                                                                    – Internet Monk

*Next month my parents are coming to stay here for a weekend and watch the kids while Clay and I celebrate our 5th anniversary (which was last month) by going to Victoria, British Columbia.  We keep hearing that it’s beautiful, and I don’t think we’ve been away together since Evelyne’s been born, so I’m really excited.  Too bad I’ll probably be spending more bonding with my breast pump than with Clay.  

*I’m so glad that we survived the heat wave last week, although I feel like I barely made it.  One day it reached 105 which was the highest recorded temperature EVER in the Seattle area!  Our house reached 92 degrees a few times and pretty much stayed around 89 for a few days.  I just sat in one spot on the floor in front of a fan and as long it was blowing on me the heat was somewhat bearable.  But anytime I had to go to the bathroom or make something to eat and I didn’t take a fan with me (I usually did!), I would start sweating immediately and it would be rather unbearable.  The kids seemed to handle it much better than we did, and all of us pretty much stayed in our diapers/underwear for a few days.  Lots of nekkie time in our house.  Oddly enough, this week the temperatures have been in the high 60’s and low 70’s and the coolness has been a VERY welcome change!

*I’ve been really into watching the Food Network and other cooking shows lately.  I kinda go in phases with cooking shows and HGTV.  I get really obsessed with one of the other and watch a ton of cooking/decorating/real estate shows for a month or two and then I get totally burned-out and don’t want to watch any for a few months.  Then I rediscover the love and dive back in.  So right now I’m into food shows.  I discovered Top Chef for the first time, and thankfully Bravo has been running the entire season of Top Chef: Masters which I DVR’ed and have been watching.  I was also really into The Next Food Network Star and my favorite Melissa D’Arabian won (Clay was surprised that I let-out such a loud squeal of excitement when they announced that she won!).  She’s a stay-at-home mom with 4 kids under the age of 3 and no professional training and she was up against lots of professional chefs and she WON!  Her new show Ten Dollar Dinners just premiered on the Food Network and I can’t WAIT to watch it!  Oh, and I just discovered that her family recently moved from Texas to Kirkland, so I’m hoping to see her around town sometime.  (I still have my eyes open for Jason Mesnick, the former Bachelor who lives here)

*I’m a bit ashamed to admit, but I’ve also gotten into The Real Housewives of Atlanta on Bravo.  They ran the entire season last weekend back-to-back, so that’s pretty much what I spent last weekend doing.  I kept asking myself, “Why am I watching this?  This is ridiculous!”  but I couldn’t help it, it just SUCKS YOU IN, those ladies are so out of control!  Bravo’s really killing me lately.  This is why I haven’t been blogging.

*I don’t know what else.  But I’ll try to blog more and stay on top of things.  And because they’re so cute, here ya go:

P1040502

 

 

3 responses to “I’m back.

  1. Oh, Emily. Those kids are cutie pies! Two will just keep getting better and better = ). So much so you’ll have to hold back trying for the third one…I keep reminding myself how hard those first 6-7 months were with adjusting to two so that I don’t jump on the bandwagon of 3 kids 3 and under.

    And I must admit, I get so excited when I see that you’ve blogged = ). Miss reading your thoughts so try to keep it up for those many stay at home moms out there that need their Emily fix at least once a week!

    Like

  2. i’m so glad to hear that things are looking up for you! oddly enough, i’m also glad to hear that they were hard and maybe a little unhappy, because that makes me feel like there’s a chance what i’m going through might be normal. i had no idea the adjustment to 2 kids would be this hard…frankly, i’ve had days where i think i can’t handle 2 much less 3 kids! honestly didn’t think it would feel that way. so, maybe in 3 or 4 more months i’ll be feeling like you do?

    your kiddos really are adorable! that’s a classic picture!

    Like

Leave a Reply

