Four Months

On Wednesday Harris turned four months old, and yesterday we had his doctor’s appointment that told us all the stats of how he’s growing.  It looks like he’s gonna be a tall and skinny guy because he only weighs 12 lbs. 9 oz. (he was 11 lbs. 1 oz. at two months), so he’s dropped to the 10th-25th percentile in weight.  BUT.  He’s 26 inches long which is apparently pretty close to the 90th percentile in height!  He still nurses anywhere from 7-10 times a day, and the doctor said that growth patterns like this tend to be genetic and she’s happy to see them long and lean.  His body type looks just like Evelyne’s did at this age, so I guess that’s just how I grow ’em.  She said he was also doing a good job of meeting his milestones, had great head control on his belly, etc…  He was rolling over both ways a few weeks ago, he would do it every time we put him on the floor, but he must’ve forgotten how because he hasn’t done it in awhile.  

As far as the sleeping goes, things are better.  Not great, but better.  There was crying involved on both of our parts, (and my decision to do that is not up for discussion) but but now he’s waking-up to eat twice a night (sometimes three times) instead of about six or seven times at night.  Big improvement.  

In general, he’s still a cutie whose getting cuter every day.  I love having a little boy more than I ever thought I would, and I’m so excited to watch how the next couple years of his life unfold.  I think with Evelyne I had no concept of what she would be like as she got older since I had never had a child before.. I didn’t know what to expect.  I didn’t know what it was like to be a parent of a six month-old, or a one year-old, or a two year-old.  Now that I know, because I’ve been through those stages with her, I’m so excited to see how Harris grows and changes through these stages.  How will he be different, how will he be similar to her?  I can’t wait to see what he’s like as he gets old enough to play with toys, to crawl and walk, to talk…  I think with him I have more of an understanding that he’s a real person in that baby body instead of just a blob who eats and cries and poops.  One day my little baby blob is going to talk to me and hug me and jump on the bed and play ring-around-the-rosie with his sister….  I’m reminded of the promise of all the days and years to come with him, and that helps me to appreciate and love the sweet and cuddly baby he is right now.  It really will go so fast.  

 

P1030444P1030472P1030493P1030534P1030544P1030589

6 responses to “Four Months

  1. OH Emily! He is too precious for words! SO CUTE!!!

    Like

  2. Super cute and as a mother of both genders, its so fun to see the difference! Excited for ya!
    -h

    Like

  3. He is sooo cute Emily, I think he is such a mini Clay, but is starting to look more like you the older he gets. Glad things are starting to get better, you are a great Mom and I know they both love you to pieces.

    Melody

    Like

  4. emily! your children are beautiful. it’s nice to catch up on what is going on with you–it’s been a long time. how are you?

    Like

  5. Great pics, Emmy! HE IS PRECIOUS. I want to kiss his face off! So glad to hear things are getting better with the sleep issues. Love ya!

    Like

  6. oh. my. goodness!!! hahahaha. those pictures made my day. He’s a real mush. Sorry I missed your call…I will call you back, promise. Happy 4 months to Harris. Love~

    Like

Leave a Reply

