Harrison “Harris” Taylor Jones

Well, when he decided that he was ready to come, he came and he came FAST!  This morning at 3:30 I felt my first contraction, and at 6:25 little Harris was born.  I did almost all of my laboring at home and arrived at the Birth Center about 20 minutes before he came out.  (It would’ve been much easier if I had just had a homebirth, I’m sure that’s probably what we’ll do next time.)  Clay had the priviledge of catching him as he was born, and we were all a little surprised by his thick black hair!!!  He weighs 8 lbs. 6 oz., is 22 inches long and looks like a dark-headed boy version of newborn Evelyne!  As the day has gone-on, we’ve been more and more amazed at how MUCH he looks like Ev!!!

We stayed at the Birth Center for almost four hours after he was born for them to examine Harris and me and make sure everything looked ok.  He actually had a bit of an irregular heartbeat for awhile, and though the midwife thought it was something that was just a part of transitioning out of the womb and would resolve itself, she recommended we make an appointment with a pediatrician this afternoon.  After lots more monitoring his heartbeat, the concensus was that the irregularity was gone after just a couple of hours and there was no need to take him to the pediatrician.  (It was also nice that my mom and dad, who are a doctor and a NICU nurse, were there to listen and offer their opinion as well.)  So we all arrived back at home this morning around 10 a.m., ready to start our new life as a family of four!

The whole experience was incredibly surreal, especially since it was SO fast!  (I had been expecting and praying for a quick labor, but I had been hoping for, say, six hours, not three!!!  I had no expectation it would be THAT fast!)  I’m feeling great, just a tad bit sore and slow, but I had no episiotomy or tearing, so it’s amazing how much better I feel after this birth than after Evelyne’s.  (Even though he’s a pound and a half bigger!)  He’s been nursing great (better than Evelyne at this stage) and sleeping all day.  I’ve already taken two catnaps and have enjoyed having a whole day at home to get to know my new baby.  I’m still processing everything and trying to wrap my mind around what just happened, and I’ll definitely post a more detailed birth story as soon as possible.  Here are a few pictures!

dsc04273

dsc04265

dsc04263

22 responses to “Harrison “Harris” Taylor Jones

  1. Congratulations! On the quick delivery, wow, and the gorgeous little Harris. Cute pic of Evelyne loving on her little brother. Enjoy being a family of 4!

    Like

  2. Yeah! Congratulations, that sounds so fabulous! Beautiful family. 🙂

    Like

  3. Congrats, Emily!! Glad to hear everyone is doing well. 🙂

    Like

  4. oh, emily, I am so happy for you! what a beautiful little man! and I am thrilled that you are both happy and healthy! praise the Lord!

    Like

  5. He’s beautiful….or handsome should I say. And what a cute picture of Ev kissing him. Congrats!

    Like

  6. Wow, Emily, you weren’t kidding about the dark hair!!! Congratulations!! I’m glad that labor went so well for you guys! 🙂 More pics please, and keep us posted how life is with two.

    Like

  7. PS I love the name. I wish I had a maiden name that would be awesome as a child’s name. Unfortunately, my maiden name reminds me of a ten year old rottwiler (sp?) or great dane ready to attack some intruder and not a child’s name.

    Like

  8. First of all huge congrats on Harrison and natural labor. I am so proud of you and he is just precious! Secondly I love Harrison it was actually going to be lillianas name if she had been a boy so I still may use it one day if we ever have another son, barring you don’t mind 🙂 can’t wait to hear more details congrats again!

    Me l

    Like

  9. Congrats!!!! I’m so glad you got the birth you wanted, and have a healthy baby!!!!

    Like

  10. Congratulations!! I’m SO glad everything went smoothly. I can’t wait to hear more and see more pictures soon!! Wow!

    Like

  11. YAY!!!! i’m so proud of you, em! way to go with a natural birth!!! i knew you could do it! 3 hrs?!? that’s incredible! harrison is just precious…and he DOES look like ev!!! wow! i am so happy for you guys! i SO wish i could be there!!!

    Like

  12. YAY! I’m so excited to have a new precious nephew – can’t wait to see Harris (love the name) in person! I love his chubby cheeks. I’m so proud of you for making it through everything… and going home after only 4 hours – what a woman!

    Like

  13. Wonderful! What a blessing!

    Like

  14. Congratulations! Harris is beautiful! 🙂

    Like

  15. Congrats to you! 3 hours! Holy cow! I’m about to start referring to you as wonder woman. 🙂 I’m glad it went well and you both are healthy. What a great name…Harris! Love it. He’s got such good color for being a newborn. and look at all that hair!!! amazing. thanks for sharing your story so soon with us!

    Like

  16. Congrats! Enjoy these moments they pass too fast!
    -h

    Like

  17. Congratulations on an amazing birth story and a beautiful son!!

    Like

  18. Congrats Emily! Love the name -Noah’s middle name is Harrison 🙂 Glad to hear it all happened so fast! Enjoy your newborn baby!

    Like

  19. EM!! HE”S PERFECT!! i’m so proud for y’all. thank God for a swift and healthy delivery.

    Like

  20. Congratulations! thanks again for letting me part of your special day – sorry I didn’t make it in time.

    Like

  21. yay! i’m so happy for you and the easier labor- they do get easier as you go along. the first is the worst. glad you enjoyed it! he’s very handsome! love you

    Like

  22. so happy for ya’ll. i’ve been out of the loop, so i’m glad to check in and see that baby Harris is doing well. enjoy the little boy snuggles. and big sister snuggles. love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

