37 Weeks

So I’m currently 37 weeks and 4 days pregnant.  Change is a’comin’.

I guess I haven’t really blogged much lately about the pregnancy, but it’s definitely something that I’m thinking about almost constantly, especially as the end draws near.   Since I was induced with Evelyne before I’d even had one contraction, the experience of spontaneously going into labor is brand new to me.  I kinda feel like a first-time mom in that respect.  Even when I was in labor with her, I only had contractions for a few hours before I got my epidural, and since I was waking-up from an Ambien-induced sleep and had Stadol on top of that, I was kinda out of it anyway.  This time there won’t be any calmly walking into the hospital to be hooked-up to an IV (unless there’s some sort of problem or something), we’re going for the more classic, “Honey…it’s time.”  scenario.  

I’ve been having more Braxton-Hicks contractions over the past couple of weeks (I didn’t even experience having those at all with Evelyne), so I can tell things are gearing-up.  Last night I woke-up at 3:30 a.m. with really painful cramps.  They didn’t feel like contractions because my belly wasn’t getting tight and there wasn’t a beginning or an end, it was just a constant cramp.  But every women’s experience is a little different, so part of me was a little concerned that it could be the early stages of labor.  As much as I’ve been so excited about this coming, I realized, “Oh my gosh, I’m a little freaked-out and scared right now!”  I got-up for awhile and they were gone within an hour, so it was nothing to worry about, but the reality check of what could have been happening really sobered me.  I think I’d prefer to go into labor during the day, there was just something so weird and nerve-wracking about going to sleep like normal and then waking-up to the possibility of your entire life changing very soon.

So who knows if it’ll be another day or another few weeks before little Jones makes an appearance, but either way, Clay and I are a little more tuned into reality after last night.  I’ve continued reading more books about natural childbirth (my favorite being Active Birth by Janet Balaskas), and although I’m still a bit nervous about what it’ll be like, I’m finding myself getting more and more excited about the experience.  I love that it’ll be totally different from Evelyne’s birth and that that will be something unique and special in my relationship with this child.  I love that even though I may scream and cry and want to die, I’ll be living the same experience of billions of women who have gone before me.  I love that barring any complications, I’ll be experiencing birth in the way God designed my body to function.  Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t have this whole experience totally romanticized or anything, but I do feel very positive and hopeful that no matter how yucky it might be in the moment, it will be a life-changing experience that will grow me in so many ways.  

As for now, my midwife said the baby is in a perfect position, everything looks great, my belly is getting bigger (I’m feelin’ kinda huge these days), and I’m hyper-aware of any little change or weirdness my body does.  There are still several things that we need to get from the store… not really any essentials other than diapers (ehh, like those are important?) and I need to find my breast pump (who knows where that thing is after our move!), but I guess we’re pretty much ready.  I guess…?

4 responses to “37 Weeks

  1. Just curious, is your breast pump manual or electric? I used a manual one, but then a friend rented (“the boob machiene” as I call it) for me and I thought it was great. Once you’re latched on there, that thing pumps ya ofr all your worth- which is awesome if you have painful engorgement like I did. Anyways, I have no idea how much it costs to buy one or rent one even, just remember it felt good to get rid of the massive amount of milk I had and I never seemed to get near as much out manually. I know the basic equipment you need is around $30 last time I checked. Good luck with everything! I’m excited for you!

    Like

  2. YEA! Emily, even though we barely know each other, I’m SO PROUD OF YOU for your courage to do a natural birth! I feel both inspired and empowered by your decision to do it and by your realistic perspective about what it could be like.

    Yes, you probably will be begging for drugs and wanting to die, but it will not last long, because you’ll have a beautiful, healthy baby in your arms and the unbreakable solidarity with the trillions of courageous, strong women who have gone before you on this path. I’ll be praying for your renewed courage and strength!

    p.s. I’ll probably be giving you a call when my day comes to join you and those trillions of women!

    Like

  3. You almost make me want to have another one now! 🙂 I love the anticipation and excitement right before having a baby. It’s a wonderful time. Like you, I never had really noticeable Braxton Hicks w/ #1, but I sure did w/ #2. I remember having them one night and saying that I thought it might be time, but then they stopped. I was incredibly disappointed yet relieved b/c I was tired and wanted some rest before starting labor. I’ll be praying for you as the day comes closer!

    Like

  4. Oh Emily, I am so excited for you! I’m sure you have a million things going through your head, but I know God will give you the grace to persevere through labor and delivery…and then you’ll be holding that new, precious baby in your arms! It literally makes me want to cry just thinking about it! I hope you and Clay and Ev will have a very special Christmas as a family of three. Life is about to change, but it will be come sweeter too. Can you email me your address when you get the chance?? Thanks!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

