Any good book recommendations?

I’m looking for a few good fiction books.  Hopefully I’ll make it to the library this weekend, and I’d love to actually go in there looking for a few specifics since it’s so hard to browse with a child.  Well, really it’s just hard to browse amid thousands of books anyway since fiction is categorized by the author’s last name and how am I supposed to know the last name of the author of a random good book I’ve never heard of?  Hmmm???  

I like historical fiction (although not really early-America type stuff and not stories set in war times, that just bores me), I like girly, I like romantic, etc….  Not a big fan of fantasy-type books.  (no Harry Potter) Or anything remotely scary or suspenseful.  (don’t think of suggesting that new popular vampire-Twilight series)  And nothing too heady, if I wanted to really concentrate then I’d just pick-up a non-fiction book.  I need to escape into a really good story!  Clay’s going to be at yet another class all weekend and I need to not be bored.  

Any recommendations???????

13 responses to “Any good book recommendations?

  1. Yeah, one good book I read a while back was called Across Five Aprils. It is set in the Civil War, but it isn’t about the battles or anything like that. It’s about a family that lives in Illinois (I think) and their life. It’s one of my favorites, and I think you’ll like it.

    Like

  2. Lynn Austin- “christian” genre, not corny, though- historical fiction. i love love love everything she writes. and have read it all! as well- i like Beverly Lewis (she writes about lancaster county penn. and the amish) see if you can do an online search for books at your library- i can do this (even in this small town) and even request that they pull the books for me (or have them sent from another library) so i can run in and out with kids. i feel like i’m cheating when i do this, and i miss the smell of libraries (however, the librarys do not miss me or my loud, small children!)

    Like

  3. Have you ever read Francine Rivers? She writes amazing (Christian) fiction, and I think she’s one of the most talented writers in the genre. Her Mark of the Lion series is especially good. It’s set in the Roman empire right after Christ. She also writes good contemporary fiction. ITA with you. I pick my novels for enjoyment, not to think hard. 😉

    Like

  4. I agree with the previous post. The Mark of the Lion series is excellent. Great fiction. Have you read The Shack?? Also good fiction…just keep in mind it’s fiction. =)

    Like

  5. “Atonement Child,” – by Francine Rivers. It’s fiction, and it’s really good!!!

    Like

  6. Yeah, I love Francine Rivers, I think I’ve already read everything of hers. The Mark of the Lion series was one of my all-time favs! And I read several Lynn Austin books a couple of months ago, I”ll see if the library has any more. Any more ideas?

    Like

  7. Want a romance that’s for pure entertainment and is clean, then try Grace Livingston Hill. I love her books. Not much suspense, pretty predictable, but a great escape. She wrote in the early 1900s, so they’re mostly set around WWI, the Great Depression, and WWII.

    Dorothy L. Sayers is also one of my favorites. She writes mystery novels in the 1920s and 30s about Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane. They’re really well written, and there’s some depth in her work. You can, however, just enjoy the story without paying attention to any symbolism, social commentary, etc.

    Ann Perry is another one of my faves. She writes historical mysteries set in Victorian England. She’s got two series: Thomas &Charlotte Pitt and the Monk series. I’ve only read the Monk ones. I love the history in them, and they’re not too suspenseful. There’s a little bit of romance in them, but they’re primarily mysteries.

    Other favorites include Hope Leslie by Catherine Sedgwick (set in Pre-Revolutionary New England), North and South by Gaskell (industrial England), and anything by Jane Austen.

    Like

  8. first of all you don’t have to bother with browsing just get an account (if you haven’t already) and then order the book. They put it on a shelf with your name. Then you just walk in and pick up all the books with your name on them and check them out. It’s the best system ever! The best way to find good books is Amazon. Find a book that you already know you have read and like on amazon and then look at the other suggestions that come up with it. “Other customers who bought xyz also bough abc” then go to the library web page http://www.kcls.org and order that book. If no one else has it checked out or on hold it will be on the shelf waiting for you in a few days.

    I think you should try David Sedaris “me talk pretty one day” or “dress your family in corduroy and denim” if you want something light, easy to read, and pee you pants funny.

    Like

  9. I was going to recommend Ann Perry and I see that someone else did, that’s two for AP. 🙂 I think the last one I read was called ‘Face of a Stranger’ (I THINK!). Really, really good.

    Pat McIntosh books are EXCELLENT! However, they are set in 14th century Scotland so the language can be a slow down if you don’t “get” the meaning of a word right away (e.g. they use “ken” instead of the word “know” and a few others). But they are really fantastic and I’m head over heels for the main character. Not girly but they do have romance – and mystery.

    Lastly, Mahan Myers. Actually two authors writing under one name. Great stories but you do have to deal with the occasional curse word and gruesome visual. Also not girly but does have romance. Mysteries of course because that’s my favorite genre. The Mahan Myers books span centuries and cover the settling of America and its beginning as a country. One of their books was set in New York when it was still New Amsterdam. I know you said not early America but since “early America” is pretty broad I thought I’d suggest them anyway, just in case. 🙂

    Speaking of books, I popped onto one of the parenting sites you have a link to and have just started reading “Grace Based Parenting” by Tim Kimmel. Thanks for the “suggestion”.

    Like

  10. p.s. One thing I do to get book ideas is sign up for the book e-newsletters from the major bookstores (B&N, Borders etc). Then when I read about a book that I think I would like I request it at the library. The library newspaper “Book Pages” is also really good for that. I live in Pierce Co. but King should be the same, our library website itself has recommendations for good reads – not to mention the librarians. Good luck!

    Like

  11. Not that you need any more suggestions, but I think Barbara Kingsolver has some good reads (e.g., The Poisonwood Bible). Actually, I have several of her books and haven’t read any of them yet (thanks to grad. school). But I trust the taste of the people who recommended them to me. If you’re interested, I could bring 1 or 2 of them for you to borrow when I see you on Monday!

    Like

  12. my last suggestion- Randy Alcorn. it’s good. really good. yes, he writes fiction as well as non. and Jerry B. Jenkins- he writes a great novel, Riven is new and the other one i liked is Though None Go With Me. it’s nothing like left behind.

    Like

  13. Phillipa Gregory is a fantastic historical fiction writer. I started with the Other Boyelyn Girl, and have read just about everything of hers from there. And don’t base the book on the movie, which was not great.

    I just finished the Trilogy “The Many Loves and Sorrows of Josephine Bonaparte” It’s supposed to be her memoirs – very riveting.

    Also enjoyed:

    Eleanor of Aquitane
    The Borgia Bride
    When We Were Gods

    Like

Leave a Reply

