Because a female Vice-President isn’t *really* in leadership over men….

Stumbled across this great post about how Christian complementarians are justifying their support for Sarah Palin as VP.

This definitely gives a reasonable response to the inconsistency that I previously noted of those who would never let a woman be in a position of leadership over a man, particularly in the church, and have thrown their support behind Palin because of her faith and conservative politics.

Anyone?

5 responses to “Because a female Vice-President isn’t *really* in leadership over men….

  1. I would consider myself a Christian complementarian, and I do not have a problem with Palin being VP. I believe that that Bible gives clear and explicit role distinctions for men and women at home and in the church. Such clarity does not exist for secular relationships. The Bible does not specifically address what roles are appropriate for men and women in secular occupations and professions. I, therefore, focus on how we carry out these roles rather than focusing on which roles are appropriate.

    Another point worth mentioning. I agree with Palin on most political issues, including but not limited to abortion. I think that she will govern according to my values better than Obama will. I politically agree with Obama on virtually nothing. I think that if I actually did have a problem with a female being vice president, I could still vote for her as being the lesser of two evils. I realize that logic isn’t without fault, but perhaps it is what some people are thinking.

    Like

  2. The issue at hand here runs far deeper than mere complimentarian/egalitarian stances regarding gender roles. The real issue (at least one of them) is theological and the extent to which we understand the spiritual and sacredness of all spheres of life. The mere thought that I would follow or support a woman who has responsibility over “political” dimensions of life, but not one who has responsibility over “spiritual” dimensions is perhaps one of the silliest dichotomies created by our culture. For whatever biblical/theological arguments we might want to make about the ways in which God created men and women to complement one another, the notion that we would receive life-instruction from others based on their reproductive equipment as opposed to their spiritual maturity is an idea who time has come.

    Incidentally, just the other day I received a great word of correction from a friend who is not only a female, but 7 years my younger. She has no “male covering,” or anything of the sort, just a discerning spirit and compassionate heart. Often we need to allow our experience in life (re)shape how we read and understand the Bible.

    Like

  3. Good word, JR. Thanks for taking it a few steps deeper, I completely agree.

    Like

  4. I like this website and think it has some good discussion on this topic from the viewpoint of Christian complementarians: http://www.cbmw.org/Blog

    Like

  5. Voddie Baucham, whom I respect incredibly, has written a few blog entries on Sarah Palin. He does have a problem with her candidacy. Just thought that I’d throw in another perspective on this subject. http://www.voddiebaucham.org/vbm/Blog/Entries/2008/9/9_None_of_The_Above.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

