What can happen in a small bathroom with a toddler

Earlier tonight the three of us were all in our tiny bathroom together getting ready to dash out to the store.  I was putting my hair in a ponytail, Clay was peeing, and Ev was…exploring.  The next thing I know, Clay’s freaking-out because while he was standing there mid-stream, he noticed a little hand reaching between his legs and and stretching outward.  He started yelling at me to DO SOMETHING!  SHE HAS MY PEE ON HER HAND!  Evelyne was a little confused and just held-out her arm like, “Dude, what just happened?”  I had one of those moments when you don’t know what to do and you feel almost paralyzed so you do the only thing that makes sense–finish fixing your ponytail.  (while laughing hysterically)  Clay was like, “EMILY, FORGET YOUR HAIR, WIPE HER HANDS OFF! WASH THEM! SANITIZE THEM!” all while he was trying to finish peeing because apparently having your daughter interrupt your business with her hand seems to stall things a bit.

It was hil-AR-ious!

6 responses to “What can happen in a small bathroom with a toddler

  1. First, that’s a hilarious story, and I totally would have responded the way you did – laughed very hard.

    Second, that’s SO exciting that you’re going the midwife route for your new baby. Seattle is a good place for such things. 🙂

    Third, I’m back in Seattle and would love to hang out with you at some point. Church won’t be the best venue for multiple reasons, but mostly because we go to a different service than you – the 5pm service. My schedule’s relatively flexible, so let me know when you’d like to hang out. I could show you some sweet Seattle parks to take your munchkins. Or we could eat – always a lovely activity for social engagements. 🙂

    laurie

    Like

  2. Alright, maybe I shouldn’t check your blog on a daily basis. It hurts to laugh since I’m still recovering from surgery and now I’m in a lot of pain. That was the funniest thing I have ever read. AHHHH……Hilarious.

    Like

  3. That brings to mind a story that a local DJ told about himself once. I don’t remember the details of how he ended up naked on his hands and knees with his head under the sink fixing something but I do remember that his family’s new kitten had a fascination for dangling obejcts and, well – you get the rest.

    Like

  4. Thanks for that. I needed a serious laugh. I love that you just continued to fix your hair and laugh. Sounds like what my response would have been.

    Like

  5. another LOL, Julie! You’re on a roll here in my comments section!

    Like

  6. HAHAAHHAHAAHAHHH!!!!!! Oh, man that’s funny. I’ll laugh about that all day!!! heheheheeheh

    Like

Leave a Reply

