Who needs Pillsbury!

So I went to the grocery store today, and one of the main items on my list was a bag of frozen Pillsbury biscuits—a staple in the Jones house.  Imagine my shock and disappointment when I saw that one bag–12 biscuits—was $5!!!!!  I’m used to paying around $2-3 (or less!), so I wasn’t about to shell-out $5.  (Although this is just one of the many items that are SO MUCH MORE EXPENSIVE here than in Memphis!  My grocery budget is totally blown, I had no idea how much stuff would cost out here!  Some of it is almost twice what I’m used to paying! And NO ONE in the entire state of Washington doubles coupons.  I’m ruined!!!!)

Since my plan was still to make sausage and egg biscuits for dinner tonight (one of Clay’s favorites), I decided to go the old-fashioned way and make homemade biscuits.  I searched trusty www.Allrecipes.com and found a recipe that was very highly ranked and recommended.  I was pretty nervous about making it since I rarely make anything from scratch.  Well…. I am very pleased to report that my homemade biscuits turned-out WONDERFULLY!!!!  Clay loved them and said they were some of the best he’d ever had, and I thought they were pretty darn fabulous, too.  And although I kinda made a mess with the flour all over the countertop, it was really pretty easy and definitely worth it for the taste!  Here’s the recipe:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1 cup milk

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Cut in the shortening until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Gradually stir in milk until dough pulls away from the side of the bowl.
  3. Turn out onto a floured surface, and knead 15 to 20 times. Pat or roll dough out to 1 inch thick. Cut biscuits with a large cutter or juice glass dipped in flour. Repeat until all dough is used. Brush off the excess flour, and place biscuits onto an ungreased baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges begin to brown.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/JPs-Big-Daddy-Biscuits/Detail.aspx

4 responses to “Who needs Pillsbury!

  1. YIKES! Are canned biscuits that expensive too? I sometimes make Bisquick biscuits. I actually like them better than the biscuits that I make from scratch, and they’re super easy.

    Like

  2. The canned weren’t quite as bad…. I could’ve gotten them on sale for $2.50 for 8… but we don’t like them as much as the frozen. And the pop when you open the can always freaks me out!

    Like

  3. for the sake of speed… when i have a spare moment- i will mix all dry ingredients of my biscuit recipie together- label in a tupperware or baggie- so that i can just throw in the wet stuff and it saves time measuring all the little things! (i usually do about 5 recipies worth, one at a time- since i’m not good at math and couldn’t measure the mix back out in the right quantity, but i think you could make your own bisquik type mix too. that’s pretty much what i do! enjoy homemade biscuits. they taste better. and are WAY to expensive!

    Like

  4. When we were contemplating a move to Seattle earlier this year, I looked up the cost of living online. It was 1.5 times higher than here in Kansas! As I remember, a similar comparison to TN had the cost of living as lower than here. I’m sure the prices are quite a shock. Congrats on making your own biscuits! I never have mastered that. Need to practice more…

    Like

Leave a Reply

