Oh how I live for these days!

When Evelyne’s naps seem to stretch on and on into the afternoon!

My darling girl has never been a champion napper… in fact from the time she was five months old until around 9 months, she only took two 45-minute naps a day. After that it was just one long morning nap of about 1.5 hours and a short 45 minute afternoon one.  (Curses to you people whose children slept for two 2-hr. naps a day!  Curses!!!)  Since switching to one afternoon nap when she was around 14 months, it’s been better.  I would still say her average nap length is 1.5 hrs., but occasionally it’s over that, and a few times a month she’ll grace us with a blessed 3-hour reprieve.  She’s also much quicker to go to sleep and stay asleep now that she’s older, thank God.

But still I would say the best times are ones like this afternoon…. when I’m able to put her down, do a little something for myself like eat lunch and read, and then fall asleep myself….and THEN wake-up and realize SHE’S STILL ASLEEP!!!!  What, oh what, will I ever do with myself?!  The options are endless!  The quiet is glorious!  Yay for naps!!!!

(By the way, the worst times?  Those would be when I decide about an hour into her nap to fall asleep myself, and then I’m awakened from a deep sleep 20 minutes later by something that sounds like a dying animal crying “Maaaamaaaa!  Maaamaaa!!!”  I then spend the next 20 minutes trying to shake-off the sleep fog that I’m still in while she tries to wake-up herself and is fussy and clingy and cries about everything.  Yeah, those are the worst times.)

5 responses to “Oh how I live for these days!

  1. i love those days too. it seems like sometimes those days are the days i have to WAKE up my napper in order to go to an appointment. ugh. so thrilled you had “extended nap repreive” how about some belly pictures?? have you a camera?

    Like

  2. Haha- this is soooooo my son. He’s slept 45 min- 1 hour ONCE a day since he was probably one. Now he’s 2 1/2 and it hasn’t changed a bit. HOWEVER… EVERY time he stay at my mother’s for the day he sleeps for THREE hours! I make her wake him after 2 now b/c he won’t want to go to bed at his bedtime. He’s NEVER slept that long for me since he was a newborn!

    Like

  3. Unfortunately our camera broke on the trip out here, we have to send it in to be repaired!!!! So we can’t send anyone pictures of the belly or the new house! I’m gonna try to get on that asap!

    Like

  4. who doesnt love sleep? my bliss is when both my kids sleep over an hr these days!
    -h

    Like

  5. You have hit the nail on the head – those are definately the best and worst times!

    Like

Leave a Reply

