What I’m reading

It seems like I’m always in the middle of several books at at time.  Sometimes I’ll rush through one, sometimes it’ll take me months.  I love great fiction, but I mainly stick to non-fiction unless I have a great reccomendation for a novel. MongooseMom had some good reccomendations recently, so I’m going to try to see if our library has any of them. 

These are a handful of the non-fiction books I’m reading:

Between Parent and Child by Dr. Haim Ginott- This modern classic teaches parents how to relate and talk with their children in a way that builds relationship.  So much of it is just learning listening skills and applying those techniques with your children.  (like reflecting their feelings, accepting their emotions, etc…)  Most of that is pretty much exactly how we wish we could interact with adults, but we never think to treat our children with the same respect and courtesy.  Most of it is too advanced for Evelyne’s age, but I’m trying to absorb for the future. 

Grace Based Parenting by Tim Kimmel-  I really can’t say enough about this book.  What I love is that it’s not a how-to manual for raising your kids, it’s theological and conceptual.  Kimmel builds a great foundation for what it means to let the Gospel determine how you parent based-on how God parents us.  You get to figure-out the details of what that looks like in your own family. 

Men and Women in the Church by Sarah Sumner- I read this in seminary, but that was a good four years ago and a lot has changed, so I’m re-reading.  (and finding that I’m understanding it in a totally new way than before)  Sumner sensitively tells of her own journey of ministering as a woman while providing a great theological framework of what it means that God made us male and female.

Five Views on Sanctification edited by Stanley Gundry- This is another book I read in school, but I just started re-reading it.  It’s compiled by five authors who write chapters on different viewpoints regarding sanctification: Wesleyan view, Reformed view, Pentacostal view, Keswick view, and Augustinian-Dispensational view.  (obviously not a comprehensive list of Christian traditions, just five prominent Evangelical ones)  I just started it last night, and so far I’m agreeing with almost everything in the Wesleyan view.  Being that I’ve never attended a Methodist church, this is somewhat surprising, but it’s also cool to hear expressed something that’s mostly remained in my head for awhile. 

What are you reading?  Any good reccomendations?  Fiction or non-fiction. 

Leave a Reply

